Xanalytics

By @acidyo3/24/2026xitter

I've been looking into my X analytics every now and then since I got premium again.

Now, let me be clear, I don't and haven't used X to attempt to become monetized, as that's quite a new thing ever since Elon took over. My goal when using it in the past has always been mainly to talk about hive and see where/how I could promote it.

If you however constantly sing the same song, people will see you as a spammer, so you gotta widen the discussion a bit.

Nowadays what I like to mention/talk about or some times even try and pivot the conversation to is: decentralization, fair launches, fair distribution, freedom of speech, ownership, etc. This gives me a bit of a broader discussion scope and most of those still relate to hive and holozing. If I wanna go completely off-topic it can be a myriad of things I may be interested in and have some knowledge of.

I am however not "optimized" for attempting to become monetized.

Things I could do for that, would be to follow a lot more people, especially those that rake in a lot of impressions and engagements.
Follow others in the same size as me and engage with them to reach their followerbase.
Constantly scroll X for new tweets to leave relevant comments on, or reply to comments on such tweets.
Constantly scroll X.
Constantly.

Naturally I don't have time for that.

And hey, you'd think that after 8 years of being semi-active there and a very active user here, that that'd be enough to get monetized because my tweets usually do quite okay - even though it's mostly thanks to the hive community. But no, they've been pushing the milestone to get monetized further and further.

Let's take a look at my current stats after 2 weeks of premium.

image.png

Before premium, you can tell that it's even more of a lost hope situation:

image.png

Alright, so what are the minimum requirements for monetization?

500 premium followers - this one seems rather achievable as I'm only a few away from.

5 million impressions on your posts/replies within 3 months - here's where we hit a wall.

That's 5 mil impression for 90 days.

Quick maths tells me that's around 55k impressions per day which is quite crazy.

55 views on your tweets/comments per day.

On Hive I'd be lucky to hit 250 views on certain important posts on @peakd, so one could assume similar views on ecency and then some on hive.blog, maybe 600-1000 in total for the "good days".

But naturally on Hive I'm kind of like one of those power users on X that may easily get 5m impressions in 3 months, because they've been staying consistent and grinding it out for a long time. Maybe they also use fake activity to help them along, who knows.

It's quite a barrier of entry however, is it not?

On Hive you may earn a few $ for just introducing yourself and as long as you keep being active you may start seeing a few tens of $ per week or month even at these prices where the reward pool is tiny compared to what it's used to be.

@dalz often posts top author rewards earned, so you can see that the tail is quite thick and doesn't thin out that fast, we have indeed thousands of authors who earn "something" on a monthly basis.

On X the tail thins out quite fast with most still chasing the end of it to earn a couple $ within a month for having earned at least 5 million views.

I think this is a strength of hive. Even though many may abuse it, post a lot of farmy garbage they selfvote in some ways, etc, it may still be better than earning nothing for years or eventually getting banned/deleted because someone decided to do so towards your account without anyone being able to help you.

Being able to earn something for just being a person as long as you're being active and providing some kind of value is quite a strength for the network. A network that's still giving out 65% of inflation while most other network mainly share a similar % of adrevenue rather than the value of the network itself.

Don't get me started on the scaling of the reward pool, as that's probably going to make this post longer than it already is and we all already know how short our attention spans are.

Til next rant.

451

comments